New Year, New You, New…

7 Jan

…yea, yea, yea.

So how many of you have already broken your New Year’s resolutions? The ones that had you saying “I’m really going to stick to this this year,” but unfortunately you ended up reneging on it already?

Chances are, you probably aren’t the only one who didn’t keep up with your resolutions. Resolutions are, well, like rules:

meant to be broken.

(That made me sound so bad ass:  joke’s on you guys.)

But what if you call those “resolutions” something better, like (say it with me people!) “goals?” Doesn’t that now seem so much more achievable? So much more desirable?

Nothing feels better than meeting a goal, except for setting another one and meeting that as well (and so on, and so forth.)

Alright, now that we’ve agreed that the word “resolution” is indefinitely banned from our vocabularies, what goals do you want to accomplish in 2013?

*Inserts motivational song below to set the mood…*

*Inserts another motivational song below in case the video above didn’t tickle your fancy…*

I believe teamwork makes the dream work… So let’s turn those goals into a reality this year! Tell me some of your goals, I’ll tell you mine, and let’s all help each other out. (Wasn’t one of your word-that-cannot-be-said-or-typed-anymore to be nicer and more helpful to others??)

While you are thinking of what your goals are…I’ll tell you mine (and you can think of how you’ll help me…)

My goals in 2013 are (drumroll, please):

  • To become a better reporter/journalist/on-air talent (that should’ve been obvious!)
  • To get, and stay, in shape. Lost one of my favorite people in the world because of heart disease…and while I want to see her again, I have a LOT of work to do here on Earth, first. (RIP, Auntie.) Get it right, get it tight.
  • To become a better, more active blogger. That’s why I need you guys to talk to me!!! It’s frustrating to keep posting things with no followers. Then this just becomes an online journal for me…awkward.
  • To become a better daughter, sister, aunt, friend, and mentor. No explanation necessary.
  • And lastly, to do at least two photo shoots this year! Hey, it’s on my bucket list. For those of you who follow me on instagram, you know I’m a camera whore. Just kidding, if you actually know me, you know the real reason why I take so many pictures of myself; but if you don’t, then judge not (because again, didn’t we say we were going to be much nicer this year?)

So there are many, many other things I want to do this year, but now I want to hear from YOU. Tell me about what you’re going to accomplish, and let me know how I can help you!

Remember, D is always on your side!!!

One love!

One Response to “New Year, New You, New…”

  1. Liz January 7, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Well…I’ve always struggled with the word “goals”…speaking of I think I need to get back to “Shattered Glass” lol.

    2012 was a trying year. But the beauty of life is 365 days later (God Willing) you are blessed with yet another opportunity to grow and challenge yourself. So…in honor of this “NEW” life…I would say I strive to:

    1. Love myself fiercely
    2. Forgive myself lovingly
    3. Accept Reality, not as it should be, but as it IS!
    4. Face Fear – this is probably going to be my biggest challenge of all but I think 2012 prepared me for it.

Leave a Reply

